Reunion 2020

We were delighted to greet alumni from the Class of 1955 through the Class of 2019 at a virtual happy hour, which kicked off our successful first, and hopefully only, virtual Alumni Weekend in early May! On Friday, May 8, we convened together and then split into groups by decades to enable smaller conversations. Reminiscences were heartfelt and numerous.

That Saturday morning, we gathered to hear Head of School Carol Maoz give a state of the school address followed by an awards ceremony. Dr. John Goodenough '35, the 2019 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry, received the Alumni Achievement Award, presented by Ron Coleman '04. Dr. Goodenough's acceptance letter was recited by long-time Foote science teacher Leslie Long. In one of the morning's more emotional moments, Sam Cunningham '04 presented a Community Award to his father, teacher, and former administrator John Cunningham, who is retiring this spring after 35 years at Foote. John's acceptance speech was equally moving, including an acknowledgment of former Head of School, Jean Lamont who hired his now-wife Tina as a teacher. The final award of the morning was presented to Carol Maoz. Kossouth Bradford '87, Foote's counselor, presented the Community Award with a touching speech that included the many ways he and Carol have connected over the past 11 years- as an alum, faculty member, and parent. Carol's lovely acceptance was followed by a video retrospective. 

After the ceremony, we held an open Alumni Council meeting led by Co-Presidents Jen LaVin '81 and Elizabeth Daley Draghi '77. Ninth Grade student leaders, Elias Theodore and Anya Mobarak joined us for a lively discussion about their time at Foote and distance learning.  The Council then discussed a call for new members (nominations and self-nominations can be sent to and ways of staying in touch, especially during these difficult times. If you have ideas for the latter please also email the Alumni Office,


Carol Maoz Retrospective

Event Schedule

Friday 5:30-7:30 p.m.
Virtual happy hours, breakout rooms* organized by decade
Welcomed by Jen LaVin '81, Alumni Council co-president

Saturday 11:00 a.m.
Welcomed by Elizabeth Daley Draghi '77, Alumni Council co-president
State of the School Report from Carol Maoz, Head of School
Presentation of Awards
Alumni Achievement Award:
Nobel Laureate Dr. John B. Goodenough '35
Community Awards:
Head of School Carol Maoz and 30-year faculty member John Cunningham

11:45 a.m.
Open Alumni Council Meeting
Presentation from ninth grade student leaders
Discussion of alumni gatherings during pandemic

All times EDT


Campus Map

Hotels & Dining

Planning on attending our next alumni reunion? Download lists of hotels and popular restaurants below.

Hotel Accommodations
Places to Dine


Reunion 2019

Reunion 2018

Contact Us

For questions regarding Reunions, please contact Amy Stephens Sudmyer '89,
Assistant Director of Development and Alumni Programs

Phone: 203-777-3464 x209