Skip To Main Content

Board of Directors

The Foote School is guided by a diverse and highly qualified Board of Directors composed of parents, alumni and former faculty. The Board is responsible for providing strategic vision and direction; financial stewardship and oversight of campus facilities; as well as appointing, evaluating and supporting the Head of School. Its members are elected to staggered four-year terms by The Foote School Association, the nonprofit corporation of which all Foote parents or guardians are members.

1 2 3 10 > showing 1 - 2 of 20 constituents
George Atwood

George Atwood

Board Member Since 2015
Committees: Development (Chair), Investment

George has worked at Yale for over 20 years overseeing administration and investment of charitable trusts. George’s daughter Caroline attends Tufts University, and his sons Ted and Roddy '19 attend Lawrenceville School. George and his family live in Killingworth and enjoy sailing at the family summer house in Blue Hill, Maine, or wherever sailing races take them. George received a B.A. in economics from Tufts University, an M.B.A. from Yale School of Management and is a chartered financial analyst.

Richard Bershtein

Richard Bershtein

Immediate Past President
Board Member Since 2010
Committees: Executive, Co-Chair Campaign Steering Committee, Ex Officio: Audit, Buildings and Grounds, Development, Education, Finance, Governance & Nominations, Investment
Richard received his B.A. from Yale, cum laude, and with distinction in economics. He is also a graduate of Columbia University Law School. He was a corporate lawyer in New York City from 1983 to 1987, when he returned to Connecticut to join his father and two sisters in the general practice of law in Hamden. Formerly a member of the board of directors of Neighborhood Music School, he serves on the Yale Baseball Alumni Association and was commissioner and co-chair of fundraising for Madison Little League, from which he won the 2009 Positive Coach of the Year Award and the 2014 and 2015 All-Star Awards for Fundraising. Richard was chair of the record-setting Foote Annual Fund campaigns from 2009 to 2012. He has completed more than 30 marathons. He lives with his wife, Chay, and their five children. Their sons Richard '16 and Hunter '17 attend Choate. The younger three, Shayann (Grade 2), Cody (Grade 3), Dylan (Grade 6), all attend Foote.
1 2 3 10 > showing 1 - 2 of 20 constituents

Kindergartners learn about measurement and proportion—along with concepts of community—while building “crate schools” as part of an interdisciplinary unit that helps them get to know the school.

Directors 2019-2020

George Atwood

Kavitha Bindra

Elon Boms

Wick Chambers '62

Constance Clement ‘62

Vice President

Mona Gohara

Rebecca Good

Francie Irvine

George Joseph

Vice President

Nadine Koobatian


Michael Krauss

Richard Lee


Melissa Matthes

Jennifer Milikowsky '02

Stephen Murphy


Annie Paul

Jason Price

Geert Rouwenhorst

Alexandra Shor

Kiran Zaman



Richard Bershtein

Past President

Carol Maoz

Head of School